Champions since 1965, Singapore’s water polo team in danger of losing SEA Games gold

Tears flowed freely on the pool deck at the New Clark City Aquatic Centre on Thursday (Nov 28), after the Singapore men’s water polo team were beaten 7-5 by Indonesia in their SEA Games round-robin match, almost certainly putting an end to the Republic’s five decades of dominance in the event.

Singapore have won every gold medal since the competition started in 1965, and clinched a 27th straight title in Kuala Lumpur two years ago despite a shock 4-4 draw with arch-rivals Indonesia then.

Read more

PH Women’s water polo team succumbs to Singapore

Displaying a solid start in the first quarter, the Philippine Women’s Water Polo team succumbed to Singapore, 9-18 in its opening match in the 30th Southeast Asian Games women’s water polo competitions at the New Clark City aquatics center in Capas, Tarlac Wednesday morning.

The women’s team held a 3-2 lead at the end of the first quarter, but reigning silver medalist, Singapore, scored six goals each in the second and fourth period to turn the match around.

Read more

PH Men’s water polo team opens SEA Games campaign with a draw

The Philippines men’s water polo team took a gallant stand in the endgame to force reigning silver medalist Indonesia to a 6-6 draw late Tuesday at the start of water polo competitions in the 30th Southeast Asian Games here.

Paulo Serrano’s five-meter penalty shot found the net with less than three minutes left in the match to give the Philippines the deadlock amid the loud cheers of the hometown crowd at New Clark City Aquatics Center.

Read more

History of Philippine Aquatics’ SEA Games performance

Since joining in 1977, Philippines went home without a Gold Medal six times, of the twenty-two times we have participated.

First zero gold medal was in 1999, after the retirement of Raymond Papa, and then in the following SEA Games in 2001.

With the entry of Miguel Molina in the Philippine Swimming Team in year 2003, Philippines managed to score gold medals from 2003 to 2009.

Read more

The 2019 SEA Games Philippine Swimming Team

A total of twenty seven tankers, fourteen men and thirteen women, will represent Philippines at the swimming events of the 30th Southeast Asian Games at the NCC Aquatic Center in Capas, Tarlac this December 6-11, 2019.

Leading the pack are Olympians Jessie Khing Lacuna and Jasmine Alkhaldi who are set to strut their wares on their sixth appearance at the prestigious biennial meet in the region. They are joined by other SEA Games veterans James Deiparine, Roxanne Ashley Yu, Rosalee Mira Santa Ana and Nicole Oliva.

Read more

SEA Games 2019 Schedule : Water Polo, Diving and Open Water events

Philippine Aquatics 30th Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games 2019) campaign kicks-off with our Men’s and Women’s Water Polo team strutting their wares on November 26 to December 1, 2019 at the NCC Aquatic Center in Capas, Tarlac.

Our divers will then see action on December 2 and December 6, 2019 at the NCC Aquatic Center, followed by our swimmers who are going after the elusive SEA Games gold medal on December 4 to 9, 2019.

Read more

Swimming Pinas bags overall championship in PSI Short Course GP

Swimming Pinas bagged the overall championship title in the 2019 Philippine Swimming Inc. (PSI) Short Course Grand Prix National Championships held at the Trace College Aquatic Center in Los Baños, Laguna.

Brent International School-Laguna standout Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh led the team’s campaign by winning four gold and one silver medals in the girls’ 11-13 division.

Read more

DLSU off to a flying start at Season 82 UAAP swimming championships opening

De La Salle University green tankers kicked off their Season 82 campaign to a flying start after leading the men’s and boys divisions points tally on day one of the 82nd UAAP Swimming Championships in Trace Aquatic Center in Laguna Thursday evening.

SEA Games bound Maurice Sacho Ilustre contributed two gold medals for DLSU at the opening day, where he reigned supreme in the Men’s 800m Free and 100m Free events with times of 8:53.09 and 52.07 respectively.

Read more