San Beda tankers continues dominance half-way through NCAA Championships


Senior San Beda University tankers continued to dominate half-way through the 95th NCAA Swimming Championships at the Sta. Rosa Sports Complex in Laguna Thursday afternoon.

The Red Sea Lions bagged four of the five gold medals at stake in on day two in the women’s division; and three of the five gold medals in the men’s division.

SBU’s Chloe Medina won her third individual event gold medal in the championships after topping the 200m Back event via new meet record breaking fashion; breaking the old mark of 2:31.92 with her new record time of 2:30.35.

After settling for a silver medal finish in the 100m Free event on day one, Gwen Brynne Prejul clinched her first individual gold for SBU in the 100m Fly event; so as Sophia Bulanhagui in the 400m IM event.

The quartet of Helena Teope, Cherryline Hortelano, Gwyneth Cawaling & Gwen Prejula then teamed up to win another gold for SBU in the 4x100m Free relay event.

Mary Joy Bayaga of CSB prevented SBU’s sweep in the women’s division on day two, by bagging the gold in the 50m Breast event (35.53).

SBU’s John Henry Gurango added another gold to his collection by dominating the 100m Fly event with 59.23, while chipping in a gold medal each for SBU were Jason Villaruz in 400m IM (4:58.87) and Fritz Rodriguez in 50m Breast (30.98).

Aziz Jan Pukunum managed to sneak-in a gold for CSB in the 200m Back event where he clocked a gold medal time of 2:16.93.

CSB’s quartet of Charles Licardo, Marione Barcelon, Aziz Pukunum and Christopher Wong also won the gold in the 4x100m Free relay event via a new meet record time of 3:40.15, eclipsing the old record of 3:42.90

Meanwhile, La Salle Greenhills proved unstoppable in their quest for the crown this season, winning four of the five gold medals at stake on day two.

Ted Jacob Laminta again spearheaded the gold-medal winning spree by dominating the 400m IM event with 4:48.62; his third individual gold medal since day one.

Ryan Emmanuel Suarez chipped in a gold for CSB in the 100m Fly event, so as Andrei Vaugh Aquino in the 50m Breast event.

CSB’s quartet again dominated the relay event, with Jaren Tan, Sean Cruz, Ted Laminta and Ryan Suarez teaming up tow in the gold.

SBU’s Gian Karlo De Guzman managed to squeeze in a gold for SBU in the 200m Back event.

Here’s the list of winners of day two of the 95th NCAA Swimming Championships:

Boys 400m IM Finals
Gold : 4:48.62 – Ted Jacob Laminta, CSB
Silver : 4:58.80 – Ryam Emmanuel Suarez, CSB
Bronze : 4:59.36 – Jophet Suarez, SBU

Men’s 400m IM Finals
Gold : 4:58.87 – Jason Villaruz, SBU
Silver : 5:01.54 – Patrick Reyes, UPHSD
Bronze : 5:03.21 – Darwin Joshua Avillanoza, CSB

Women’s 400m IM Finals
Gold : 5:28.84 – Sophia Bulanhagui, SBU
Silver : 5:36.38 – Katrina Mae Garcia, SBU
Bronze : 5:41.72 – Carmenrose Matabuena, EAC

Boys 50m Breaststroke Finals
Gold : 31.78 – Andrei Vaughn Aquino, CSB
Silver : 31.85 – Jalil Sephraim Taguinod, CSB
Bronze : 32.33 – Bebeboy Panquico, UPHSD

Men’s 50m Breaststroke Finals
Gold : 30.98 – Fritz Rodriguez, SBU
Silver : 31.10 – Sean Elijah Enero, MAPUA
Bronze : 31.35 – Edgar Hin Louise Chee, SBU

Women’s 50m Breaststroke Finals
Gold : 35.53 – Mary Joy Bayaga, CSB
Silver : 36.02 – Katrina Mae Garcia, SBU
Bronze : 36.96 – Ericka Pascual, UPHSD

Boys 100m Butterfly Finals
Gold : 59.66 – Ryan Emmanuel Suarez, CSB
Silver : 1:00.53 – Josh Byron Abastillas, SBU
Bronze : 1:01.60 – James Manese, CSJL

Men’s 100m Butterfly Finals
Gold : 59.23 – John Henry Gurango, SBU
Silver : 1:00.29 – Jose Gabriel Lavina, CSB
Bronze : 1:00.47 – John Michael Soriano, JRU

Women’s 100m Butterfly Finals
Gold : 1:08.23 – Gwen Brynne Prejula, SBU
Silver : 1:08.61 – Sophia Bulanhagui, SBU
Bronze : 1:09.46 – Gabriel Madelai Gonzalvo, PCSB

Boys 200m Backstroke Finals
Gold : 2:16.29 – Gian Karlo De Guzman, SBU
Silver : 2:19.93 – Dan Christian Leyba, CSJL
Bronze : 2:20.79 – Lance Rafael Cruz, CSB

Men’s 200m Backstroke Finals
Gold : 2:16.93 – Aziz Jan Pukunum, CSB
Silver : 2:18.33 – Earl Jonathan Dublas, SBU
Bronze : 2:19.84 – Oliver Aroma, UPHSD

Women’s 200m Backstroke Finals
Gold : 2:30.35 – Chloe Medina, SBU *New Meet Record*
Silver : 2:34.71 – Kim Karen Ambong, SBU
Bronze : 2:35.76 – Justine Anne Abastillas, CSB

Boys 4x100m Freestyle Relay Finals
Gold : 3:44.59 – CSB (Jaren Tan, Sean Cruz, Ted Laminta & Ryan Suarez)
Silver : 3:54.38 – SSC-R (Mark Bation, Thomas Santos, Joseph Corpuz & Judiel Buna)
Bronze : 3:55.54 – SBU (Jophet Suarez, John Villaruz, Jan Caringal & Josh Abastillas)

Men’s 4x100m Freestyle Relay Finals
Gold : 3:40.15 – CSB (Charles Licardo, Marione Barcelon, Aziz Pukunum & Christopher Wong)
Silver : 3:42.21 – SBU (Jasper Casino, Joshua Casino, Lean Dagum & Jason Villaruz)
Bronze : 3:59.12 – UPHSD (Lanz Pontevedra, Kyle Hizon, Jolo Reyes & Patrick Reyes)

Women’s 4x100m Freestyle Relay Finals
Gold : 4:13.07 – SBU (Helena Teope, Cherryline Hortelano, Gwyneth Cawaling & Gwen Prejula)
Silver : 4:34.58 – CSB (Anne Cabanatan, Mary Bayag, Veronica Cruz & Mary Curia)
Bronze : 4:47.62 – EAC (Eriloise Lukang, Almira Punzalan, Caycee Mendoza & Elisa Orejas)

CLICK HERE for the full day one results.

Related Posts

This Post Has Been Viewed 1,023 Times

Share and Enjoy