La Salle’s Ilustre and Jacinto secure SEA Games berth


De La Salle’s top swimmers Maurice Sacho Ilustre and Jerard Dominic Jacinto secured their SEA Games berth on the last day of the 1st Philippine National Open Swimming Championships in Capas, Tarlac Tuesday afternoon; and are set to represent the country at the 30th Southeast Asian Games this December.

Local swim superstar, Ilustre, braved the tough competition in the Men’s 200m Freestyle event to finish on top with a gold medal time of 1:53.59, followed by Olympian Jessie Lacuna who timed 1:54.22 for the silver, and Fil-Australian swimmer Thomas Peregrina who took the bronze with 1:54.94 clocking.

Ilustre’s gold medal time has propelled him to the second spot in the SEA Games qualifiers ranking, thus earning him the ticket to swim this event this SEA Games, along with top ranked swimmer Adrian Eichler (1:53.00).

Last Sunday, Ilustre has actually made the SEA Games cut already as the third member of the Men’s 4x100m Freestyle relay team, him being the third fastest swimmer in the 100m Free event.

His victory and his time in the 200m Free event finals has won him an individual event to swim this December, and a slot at the Men’s 200m Freestyle relay team along with Eichler, Lacuna and Miguel Barreto. John-Pierre Khouzam is the reserve swimmer in the relay team, as the fifth ranked swimmer in the 200m Free event.

Tagged as the swimmer who broke Ryan Papa’s legendary record, Jacinto, dominated the Men’s 50m Backstroke event where he clocked a personal best time of 26.19 en route to a gold medal finish.

As the second fastest swimmer in the SEA Games qualifiers ranking, Jacinto will be swimming this event this SEA Games, along with top ranked Jaden Olson who registered a SEA Games QT time of 26.18

At the end of the qualifying period, both swimmers have managed to rank 1 and 2 in all backstroke events, thus the duo are set to swim all backstroke events this December.

Jacinto is the current national record holder of the 100m Back event, breaking Ryan Papa’s long standing record; while Olson is the current national record holder of the 50m Back event.

As the top swimmer in the 100m Back event, Jacinto is also set to be part of the Men’s 4x100m Medley Relay team along with top freestyle swimmer, Luke Gebbie; top Flyer Jarod Hatch; and top breaststroker James Deiparine.

Another homegrown talent, Xiandi Chua, figured in a tough battle in the Women’s 200m Freestyle event, where the winner could possibly take the fourth slot of the Women’s 4x200m Freestyle relay team, an event where our country could possibly win a gold in SEA Games.

Swimming alongside veteran foreign based swimmers Chloe Isleta and Rosalee Santa Ana in the 200m Free finals, Chua didn’t allow herself to get distracted and intimidated by these veteran swimmers, and executed her game-plan to perfection.

She outswam both girls for the gold, and earned the ticket to swim along Remedy Rule, Nicole Oliva and Jasmine Alkhaldi in the relay event.

Chua took the gold with 2:06.28; while Santa Ana was a close second with 2:06.65, and Isleta with 2:07.18 for the bronze.

At the end of the qualifying period, Chua has made the SEA Games cut in the 200m Breast and 200m IM events, and will also be the fourth member of both 4x100m and 4x200m Freestyle relay team.

Meanwhile, foreign based swimmers Gebbie, Deiparine and Rule ended their first Philippine national swimming championships; appearance with gold medals in their respective events.

Gebbie displayed his brilliant form in the Men’s 50m Fly finals, and was 0.01 second short to breaking the national record en route to his 24.72 victory.

His exemplary showing has earned him the ticket to swim this event this SEA Games, along with Jarod Hatch who clocked 24.75 at the Santa Clara International meet in USA.

Deiparine on the other hand ruled the 100m Breast event with 1:03.56, while Rule scored a double, taking the gold in the 50m Back and 50m Fly events with times of 30.53 and 28.80 respectively.

Deiparine will be swimming both the 50m and 100m Breast in SEA Games, along with local talent Rian Tirol in the 50m Breast, and foreign based swimmer Jonathan Cook in the 100m Breast event.

Amid winning the gold in the 50m Back and 50m Fly events, Rule failed to crack the top 2 position in both events; thus she will not be swimming both events in SEA Games.

She has so far qualified in SEA Games in the 50m, 100m, 200m and 400m Free, as well as the 100m and 200m Fly events.

Here’s the complete list of winners on the last day of the 1st Philippine National Open Swimming Championships:

Men’s 200m Freestyle Finals

Gold : 1:53.59 – Maurice Sacho Ilustre, DLSZ
Silver : 1:54.22 – Jessie Khing Lacuna, AHSC
Bronze : 1:54.94 – Thomas Peregrina, FILFO

Women’s 200m Freestyle Finals

Gold : 2:06.28 – Xiandi Chua, ASSC
Silver : 2:06.65 – Rosalee Mira Santa Ana, FILFO
Bronze : 2:07.18 – Chloe Kennedy Isleta, FILFO

Men’s 50m Backstroke Finals

Gold : 26.19 – Jerard Dominic Jacinto, DLSZ
Silver : 27.42 – Manuel Victor Perez, GMSC
Bronze : 27.45 – Leon Red Silvestre, PSSC

Women’s 50m Backstroke Finals

Gold : 30.53 – Remedy Rule, FILFO
Silver : 31.24 – Mishka Sy, ASSC
Bronze : 31.33 – Regina Maria Paz Castrillo, PSSC

Men’s 100m Breaststroke Finals

Gold : 1:03.56 – Jimmy Deiparine, FILFO
Silver : 1:05.76 – Alberto Batungbacal, AHSC
Bronze : 1:07.32 – Rian Marco Tirol, AHSC

Women’s 100m Breaststroke Finals

Gold : 1:16.78 – Thanya Angelyn Dela Cruz, MPSC
Silver : 1:16.80 – Joy Rodgers, AWSC
Bronze : 1:20.54 – Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, SWIMP

Men’s 50m Butterfly Finals

Gold : 24.72 – Luke Gebbie, FILFO
Silver : 25.49 – Maurice Sacho Ilustre, DLSZ
Bronze : 26.02 – Dhill Anderson Lee, CS

Women’s 50m Butterfly Finals

Gold : 28.41 – Remedy Alexis Rule, FILFO
Silver : 28.86 – Regina Maria Paz Castrillo, PSSC
Bronze : 29.15 – Camille Lauren Buico, RASC

Related Posts

This Post Has Been Viewed 1,154 Times

Share and Enjoy