Lacuna grabs national team slot; off to his sixth SEA Games appearance


After failing to land a SEA Games slot in the Men’s 200m IM event yesterday, two-time Olympian Jessie Khing Lacuna made sure he’s going for his sixth appearance at the prestigious biennial meet by clocking a gold medal time of 4:33.96 in the Men’s 400m IM finals at the 1st Philippine National Open Swimming Championships in Capas, Tarlac Sunday afternoon.

His gold medal time puts him in second place in the SEA Games qualifiers ranking, thus guaranteeing him a slot to the national team bound to don the Philippine colors at the 30th Southeast Asian Games this December.

Top ranked swimmer in the SEA Games qualifiers ranking, Thomas Peregrina, placed second to Lacuna with a silver medal time of 4:35.31, while Green Mariners’ Steven Francis Ho took the bronze with 4:44.70 clocking.

Xiandi Chua, who already bagged her SEA Games slot in the 200m IM event yesterday, again reigned supreme in the 400m IM event, but this time failed to snatch a SEA Games slot in the said event.

Her gold medal time of 4:59.62 narrowly missed the 4:58.27 time of Georgia Peregrina and Chloe Isleta’s 4:58.64, which are the 1st and 2nd ranked times in the SEA Games qualifiers ranking heading to PNO 2019.

Peregrina and Isleta will be swimming the 400m IM event this December.

Chua again saw action in the Women’s 100m Freestyle Finals where she took the silver with a time of 58.82, behind Tokyo Olympics QTB swimmer, Remedy Rule, who clocked a gold medal time of 58.29, and ahead Chloe Isleta’s bronze medal time of 58.87

Chu has successfully secured the fourth spot in the Women’s 4x100m Freestyle relay team, along with Jasmine Alkhaldi, Remedy Rule and Nicole Oliva.

Alkhaldi and Rule are set to swim the 100m Free event comes SEA Games.

Meanwhile, Luke Gebbie, Philippine Swimming’s top bet in the Men’s 100m Freestyle event solidly held his ground in the 100m Free finals and took the gold with 50.24 clocking.

Jean-Pierre Khouzam, who just represented the country at the Junior World Championships in Budapest last week, finished second with 51.89, while Maurice Sacho Ilustre clocked 51.89 to clinch the bronze.

Khouzam outswam Ilustre for the second SEA Games slot in the 100m Free event, but Ilustre still qualified to this year’s SEA Games as the third swimmer in the Men’s 4x100m Freestyle relay team, along with Adrian Eichler the fourth ranked swimmer with 52.38 time.

Eichler though is rumored to be skipping this year’s SEA Games, thus Rafael Barreto, the fifth ranked swimmer with 52.55 might just make it to the SEA Games team.

Ilustre’s quest for an individual event at this year’s SEA Games was again foiled amid winning the gold medal of the Men’s 200m Fly event.

His gold medal time of 2:04.95 failed to beat Khouzam’s 2:00.72 and Lacuna’s 2:04.03 times, thus Khouzam and Lacuna won the right to represent the country in this event in SEA Games.

Ilustre though still has a chance of snatching a SEA Games individual event slot as he sees action in the 100m Fly, 200m Free and 400m Free events.

Meanwhile, Kirsten Chloe Daos staged an upset win for the gold in the Women’s 200m Fly finals on day two of the championship.

Tailing behind heavy favorite, Rosalee Santa Ana, in the last 15 meters of the race, Daos turned on her engine and propelled her way to the top in a very close fight for the gold.

Daos clocked a gold medal time of 2:18.69, just few milliseconds ahead of Santa Ana’s 2:18.97.

Her time though failed to land her a spot to the national team, since it was only good for a third place spot in the SEA Games qualifiers ranking.

Rule is the top SEA Games qualifier in the 200m Fly event with 2:11.39, while Santa Ana’s 2:17.70, clocked at the FINA Swimming World Cup two weeks ago ranks second.

Rule and Santa Ana will be swimming the 200m Fly event at the upcoming SEA Games.

Here’s the complete list of winners on the second day of the Philippine National Open :

Men’s 400m Individual Medley Finals
Gold : 4:33.96 – Jessie Khing Lacuna, AHSC
Silver : 4:35.31 – Thomas Peregrina, FILFO
Bronze : 4:44.60 – Steven Francis Ho, GMSC

Women’s 400m Individual Medley Finals
Gold : 4:59.62 – Xiandi Chua, ASSC
Silver : 5:15.92 – Gianna Garcia, DASH
Bronze : 5:16.76 – Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, SWIMP

Men’s 100m Freestyle Finals
Gold : 50.24 – Luke Gebbie, FILFO
Silver : 51.89 – Jean-Pierre Khouzam, FILFO
Bronze : 51.93 – Maurice Sacho Ilustre, DLSZ

Women’s 100m Freestyle Finals
Gold : 58.29 – Remedy Alexis Rule, FILFO
Siler : 58.22 – Xiand Chua, ASSC
Bronze : 58.87 – Chloe Kennedy Isleta, FILFO

Men’s 200m Breaststroke Finals
Gold : 2:22.14 – Aberto Batungbacal, AHSC
Silver : 2:22.28 – Ianiko Limfilipino, QBSC
Bronze : 2:24.46 – Jordan Lobos, SWIMP

Women’s 200m Breaststroke Finals
Gold : 2:44.03 – Thanya Dela Cruz, MPSC
Silver : 2:49.09 – Bela Louise Magtibay, DLSZ
Bronze : 2:54.42 – Alyza Paige Ng, UNAT

Men’s 200m Butterfly Finals
Gold : 2:04.95 – Maurice Sacho Ilustre, DLSZ
Silver : 2:07.04 – Miguel Barreto, AHSC
Bronze : 2:09.43 – Mervien Jules Mirandilla, SWIMP

Women’s 200m Butterfly Finals
Gold : 2:18.69 – Kirsten Chloe Daos, QBSC
Silver : 2:18.97 – Rosalee Mira Santa Ana, FILFO
Bronze : 2:23.25 – Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, SWIMP

Day three of action features the 400m Freestyle, 100m Backstroke, 50m Breaststroke and 100m Butterfly events.

Preliminary action starts at 9:00am; while finals starts at 4:00pm.

Related Posts

This Post Has Been Viewed 1,182 Times

Share and Enjoy