Chua pockets SEA Games slot at Philippine National Open 2019


Homegrown swim superstar Xiandi Chua pocketed a SEA Games slot in the Women’s 200m IM event after clocking a gold medal time of 2:21.18 at the opening of the 1st Philippine National Open Swimming Championships held at the NCC Aquatic Center in New Clark City, Capas, Tarlac Saturday afternoon.

Eighteen year-old Chua ranked 4th in the Women’s 200m IM event heading to PNO 2019, the last SEA Games qualifying meet. Her gold medal time of 2:21.18 has propelled her to second place in the SEA Games qualifiers ranking, thus clinching her the spot to represent the country at the 30th Southeast Asian Games this December.

Chloe Isleta, the current top ranked 200m IM swimmer, did not see action in the said event at the PNO.

Taking the silver at PNO 2019 was Nicole Meah Pamintuan with 2:26.72, while Zoe Hilario placed third with 2:29.57

In the Men’s 200m IM event, Thomas Peregrina outswam Olympian Jessie Khing Lacuna to take gold with a time of 2:08.14

Lacuna, who clocked 2:07.39 in the morning prelims, finished second with 2:08.21 clocking, while Maurice Sacho Ilustre bagged the bronze with 2.11.30

SEA Games veteran Lacuna, failed to win a SEA Games slot in the 200m IM event amid clocking 2:07.39 in the prelims.

Jarod Hatch and Thomas Peregrina will be swimming the 200m IM event in SEA Games, with their qualifying times of 2:05.48 and 2:07.21 times.

In the Women’s 200m Backstroke event, top three swimmers Georgia Peregrina, Chloe Isleta and SEA Games veteran Roxanne Ashley Yu figured in a cat-fight at the NCC Aquatic Center.

Isleta reigned supreme with a gold medal time of 2:18.38, followed by Yu with 2:18.62 for the silver, and Peregrina taking the bronze with 2:22.46

Ammidst taking the silver, Yu has failed to win a SEA Games slot in this event.

In the span of the SEA Games qualifying window, Peregrina clocked 2:18.19 at the Australian Swimming Championships last April, making her the top swimmer for SEA Games in this event; while Isleta takes the second SEA Game slot with her 2:18.38 clocking at the PNO 2019.

Peregrina and Isleta have very big shoes to fill in this event considering that the swimmer (Yu) they have cut-out from the team was a bronze medalist in both 2015 and 2017 edition of SEA Games.

Tokyo Olympic Games QTB swimmers, Luke Gebbie and Remedy Rule, shine in their respective events on day one of the PNO.

Gebbie managed to trim down his 50m Freestyle time to 22.90, and is inching closer to breaking the current national record of 22.62 set by Daniel Coakley at the 25th Southeast Asian Games in Laos last 2009. He is the second Filipino swimmer to have gone down below 23 seconds in this event; and he is our top swimmer in this event who will represent us at this year’s SEA Games, along with Jarod Hatch.

Rule on the other hand took the 50m Freestyle gold with a time of 26.34.

She is set to swim this event in SEA Games along with Jasmine Alkhaldi, the top swimmer in this event.

Alberto Batungbacal and Rosalee Santa Ana displayed great performances in the 1500m Free and 800m Free events by taking the gold, with times of 16:39.38 and 9:09.41 respectively.

Both have won a SEA Games slot in this event, them being the second ranked at the end of the qualifying period.

Here’s the full Top 3 results of the day one of the 1st Philippine National Open Swimming Championships :

Men’s 1500m Freestyle Finals
Gold – 16:39.38 – Alberto Batungbacal, AHSC
Silver – 16:54.87 – Miguel Barreto, AHSC
Bronze – 17:14.83 – Johanes Marcus De Kam, SWIMP

Women’s 800m Freestyle Finals
Gold – 9:09.41 – Rosalee Mira Santa Ana, FILF
Silver – 9:29.19 – Kirsten Chloe Daos, QBSC
Bronze – 9:41.41 – Gianna Vivien Garcia, DASH

Men’s 200m Individual Medley Finals
Gold – 2:08.14 – Thomas Peregrina, FILF
Silver – 2:08.21 – Jessie Khing Lacuna, AHSC
Bronze – 2:11.30 – Maurice Sacho Ilustre, DLSZ

Women’s 200m Individual Medley Finals
Gold – 2:21.18 – Xiandi Chua, ASSC
Silver – 2:26.72 – Nicole Meah Pamintuan, DLSZ
Bronze – 2:29.57 – Zoe Marie Hilario, AWSC

Men’s 200m Backstroke Finals
Gold – 2:09.20 – Phillip Joaquin Santos, AHSC
Silver – 2:12.36 – Steven Fancis Ho, GMSC
Bronze – 2:12.57 – Akiva Jose Carino, AHSC

Women’s 200m Backstroke Finals
Gold – 2:18.38 – Chloe Kennedy Isleta, FILF
Silver – 2:18.62 – Roxanne Ashley Yu, ASSC
Bronze – 2:22.46 – Georgia Peregrina, FILF

Men’s 50m Freestyle Finals
Gold – 22.90 – Luke Gebbie, FILF
Silver – 24.08 – Miguel Karlo Barlisan, QBSC
Bronze – 24.19 – Leon Red Silvester, PPSC
Bronze – 24.19 – Manuel Victor Perez, GMSC

Women’s 50m Freestyle Finals
Gold – 26.34 – Remedy Rule, FILF
Silver – 26.99 – Chloe Kennedy Isleta, FILF
Bronze – 27.07 – Jazlynn Pak, FILF

Photo Credit : Evan Grabador

Related Posts

This Post Has Been Viewed 1,069 Times

Share and Enjoy