Philippine tankers collect five more golds on day two of Arafura Games


Philippine tankers collected five more gold medals on day two of the 2019 Arafura Games in Darwin, Australia, Sunday afternoon.

John Paul Elises, Fritz Jun Rodriguez, Joshua Raphael Del Rio, Krisha Joanna Apin and the relay quartet of Lora Micah Amoguis, Erika Lois Suelan, Zoe Marie Hilario and Apin all reigned supreme their respective events.

Elises topped the 100m Butterfly 15-16 Boys with a time of 1:00.11, and at the same time clinched the bronze in the 100m Free (56.71) event.

In the Boys 17 & Over division of the 100m Butterfly event, Rodriguez propelled his way to the top with a gold medal time of 1:00.70; while Del Rio clocked 2:39.72 to clinch the gold in the 200 Breast Boys 15-16 division.

Apin’s gold medal performance was in the Women’s 800m Freestyle event where she clocked 9:50.68 to beat all 13 & Above swimmers.

She later on teamed up with Amoguis, Suelan and Hilario to win the Womens 4x100m Medley Relay gold with a time of 4:42.42.

Adding to their Arafura Games medal collections, Ivo Nikolai Enot, Matthieu Adrien Tao, Lora Amoguis, Erika Louis Suelan, the girls relay team composed of Amoguis, Apin, Hilario and Maiki Samantha Gonzaga, and the boys relay team composed of Samual John Alcos, Kierl Suazo, and Rodriguez brothers, Elson Jake & Fritz June, took home silver medals in their respective day two events.

In the 100m Butterfly 13-14 Division, Enot placed second with a time of 1:05.30, so as Amoguis with a silver medal time of 1:11.78.

Tao clocked 1:00.00 in the 100m Free 13-14 Boys to finish with a silver, while Suelan took the silver in the 200m Breast 15-16 Girls Division (2:51.65).

The Women’s 4x100m Freestyle relay timed 4:21.53 for the silver, and the Men’s 4x100m Medley Relay team finished with a silver medal time of 1:50.08.

Contributing a bronze medal each were the Yarra brothers, Ray Martin (100m Fly 13-14 Boys / 1:07.94) and John Martin (100m Fly 17 & Over / 1:01.38), so as Zoe Marie Hilario (100m Free Girls 15-16 / 1:01.85)

After day two of the games, our Philippine tankers have so far won 8 gold, 15 silver and 9 bronze medals.

Swimming events at the 2019 Arafura Games will run until April 30, 2019.

Related Posts

This Post Has Been Viewed 581 Times

Share and Enjoy