Athena Chang smashes PH Swim junior record; hits SEA Age Group QTA


Athena Shannessa Chang smashed the Girls 800m Freestyle Philippine swimming 13 & Under junior national record at the Liberty Insurance 50th Singapore National Age Group Swimming Championships held at the OCBC Aquatic Center in Singapore Tuesday evening.

Swimming in heat 2 of the Women’s 800m Free timed finals event, Chang butchered Kirsten Chloe Daos’ 13 & Under 9:42.42 record with her new record time of 9:31.23.

Chang, who is yet to turn 13 years old later this year, also finished with a silver medal in the said event (Girls 14-15 Division), just behind 14-year-old Himari Sugimoto of Japan who took the gold with 9:04.12

Vietnam’s Chloe Burkill of Bangkok Elite Swim Team (BEST) brought home the bronze with a time of 9:31.23

Not just that, Chang’s 9:31.23 new record has also surpassed the 9:31.58 QTA of this year’s SEA Age Group Swimming Championships in Cambodia.

She is the first 13 & Under swimmer to have hit a QTA of this year’s SEA AG, and fourth junior swimmer who have qualified to this year’s SEA AG via QTA.

She has joined the ranks of 2019 SEA AG QTA swimmers Nicole Oliva, Georgia Peregrina, Desirae Mangaoang and Jeremiah Tandingan; and will be entitled to a fully funded participation in Cambodia.

Meanwhile, Kirsten Chloe Daos also snatched a medal for Team Philippines also on the opening day of the Singapore Age Group Nationals, winning the bronze medal of the 800m Free Women’s 18 & Over Division with a time of 9:30.37

Other Filipino swimmers who landed a Top 10 finish of the 800m Free event, of their respective Age-Group were Miguel Barreto (5th Place in 15-17 Division with 8:42.56), Marco Daos (6th Place in 13-14 Division with 9:33.35), Ianiko Limfilipino (6th Place in 18 & Over Division with 9:05.81) and Gianna Garcia (9th Place in 15-17 Divsion with 9:50.69)

Day two of action starts today at 9:00am for the morning prelims where Olympians Jasmine Alkhaldi and Jessie Khing Lacuna are set to see action in 100m Free and 200m IM events respectively, so as junior national record holders Kirsten Chloe Daos, Jerard Jacinto, Miguel Barreto, Thanya Dela Cruz, Bhay Newberry, Marco Daos and Athena Chang.

Related Posts

This Post Has Been Viewed 791 Times

Share and Enjoy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *