Oldest NCAA swim record falls on day one of Season 91 championship


The oldest NCAA swimming championship record, which had remained untouched for eight years, was finally broken on day one of the Season 91 championship, as San Beda’s Joshua Junsay trimmed down Ferdinand “Mach” Frigillana’s 58.45 Men’s 100m Butterfly record two times on day one of the championship at the Rizal Memorial Swimming pool yesterday.

Junsay first broke the 8-year-old record at the morning preliminary with his time of 58.10; then again trimmed down his new record in the afternoon finals with his gold medal time of 57.94, an improvement of his silver medal finish last season.

John Henry Gurango, also of San Beda, clinched the silver medal with a time of 59.65, while Saint Benilde’s Mark Rominquit clocked 59.93 to take the bronze.

Maria Aresa Lipat also broke her 100m Butterfly record in the women’s division, clocking a new record time of 1:06.90 en route to her third gold medal finish in this event. San Beda’s rookie, Gwen Brynne Prejula, who earlier took the gold medal of the 400m Free event, settled for the silver with a time of 1:10.02, while Christine Joy Mendoza took the bronze with her 1:10.25 clocking.

In the junior division, Boys 100m Fly new record holder, Andrae Pogiongko, took home the gold with a time of 59.53; more than a second slower than her 58.14 new record which was set in the morning preliminary.

Letran’s Stephen De Jesus won the silver (1:02.53) and Junel Venture went home with the bronze (1:04.66).

It was Saint Benilde’s Ianiko Limfilipino who won the first gold medal in the championship, clocking a new junior boys 400m freestyle record of 4:23.63 en route to his golden finish.

Of the 18 events held on day one of the championship, 9 championship records were broken.

Other new championship record breakers include Lawrenz Joshua Francisco in Men’s 400m Free (4:14.52), Jexter Janzen Chua in Men’s 50m Breast (30.29), Adan Gonzales in Men’s 50m Breast (30.20), Christian Dimaculangan in Men’s 100m Back (1:01.22), and the Saint Benilde’s quartet of Wina Isabelle Tecson, Grace Cervantes, Andrea Pacheco and Maria Aresa Lipat in the Women’s 4x50m Freestyle relay (1:54.71)

San Beda leads the men’s division on day one of action with 247 points, followed by Saint Benilde with 71 points, and Emilio Aguinaldo with 38 points.

In the Women’s division, it’s close fight between Saint Benilde and San Beda, with Benilde on top of the leaderboard with 145 points, edging out San Beda by only 2 points. Emillio Aguinaldo is in far third with 20 points.

San Beda also leads the boys junior division with 132.5 points, followed by Benilde with 116 points, and Mapua with 28 points.

Points in the women’s division as well as the boys division do not include the results of the 200m IM event, as there were no available results.

Here’s the complete list of medalists on Day 1 of the Championship :

Men’s 400m Freestyle
4:14.52 : Lawrenz Joshua Francisco, San Beda (Gold)
4:15.21 : Joshua Junsay, San Beda (Silver)
4:25.87 : Joseph Denice Baduria, San Beda (Bronze)

Women’s 400m Freestyle
4:51.30 : Gwen Brynne Prejula, San Beda (Gold)
4:51.91 : Christine Jhoy Mendoza, Benilde (Silver)
4:52.28 : Christianne Andrea Jerez, San Beda (Bronze)

Boys 400m Freestyle
4:23.63 : Ianiko Limfilipino, Benilde (Gold)
4:31.12 : Junel Ventura, Arellano (Silver)
4:37.14 : Franco Eduardo Garcia, San Beda (Bronze)

Men’s 50m Breaststroke
30:28 : Adan Gonzales, Emilio Aguinaldo (Gold)
31.15 : Jose Gabriel Lavina, San Beda (Silver)
31.20 : Sean Elijah Enero, Mapua (Bronze)

Women’s 50m Breaststroke
36.73 : Maurize Govanne Dabi, Benilde (Gold)
37:45 : Gia Nicole Balabag, San Beda (Silver)
37.87 : Apple Grace Enguito, Arellano (Bronze)

Boys 50m Breaststroke
31.74 : Edgar Hin Louise Chee, San Beda (Gold)
31.76 : Jexter Janzen Chua, Mapua (Silver)
31.94 : Marco Daniel Callanta, San Beda (Bronze)

Men’s 100m Backstroke
1:01.22 : Christian Dimaculanga, San Beda (Gold)
1:03.71 : Robi Mangilinan, San Beda (Gold)
1:03.86 : Edmuno Villa Del Rey III, San Beda (Bronze)

Women’s 100m Backstroke
1:12.01 : Chloe Ingrid Medina, San Beda (Gold)
1:14.51 : Michaela Carla Chua, San Beda (Gold)
1:14.52 : Joahna Andrea Alquizar, San Beda (Gold)

Boys 100m Backstroke
1:03.92 : Jose Mari Sebastian Arcilla, San Beda (Gold)
1:08.59 : Alessi Catro, Benilde (Silver)
1:09.06 : Elijah Lizares, Benilde (Bronze)

Men’s 200m Individual Medley
2:16.38 : Jenkins Lorenzo Labao, San Beda (Gold)
2:17.39 : Lawrenz Joshua Francisco, San Beda (Silver)
2:19.81 : Michael Anthony Sangalang, San Beda (Bronze)

Related Posts

This Post Has Been Viewed 584 Times

Share and Enjoy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *